PaperDemon Art RPG

Open group | 1278 Members

What is your biggest frustration with improving as an artist?

1. Posted on Jan 20, 2023, 2:30:56 AM UTC
    ID: 42804 | #11
    RatboyDemiurge
    Level 11
    XP

A source of frustration I have is that I sometimes wonder if I've improved artistically, something which I sometimes wonder when comparing my newer artwork to my older artwork. Another is the lack of attention I receive, something which is very silly, especially since I am a hobbyist, but it is always a bit frustrating to see your art get ignored, especially if you worked hard on it or did something you are proud of with it.

2. Posted on Jul 27, 2023, 7:16:37 PM UTC
    ID: 44252 | #14
    Antfarm
    Level 12
    XP

Honestly, it's hubris. I'll look at something and go "Oh, that looks really easy! I bet I could do that!" then fast foreard three hours, I'm still trying to kep it right. 

3. Posted on Feb 4, 2024, 5:01:15 PM UTC
    ID: 46527 | #15
    huniedove
    Level 7
    XP

Impatience. I have a lot of ideas and a decent amount of skill to pull them off- but I get frustrated excessively easily when the picture in my head isn't appearing on the canvas as quickly as I want it to. A lot of this impatience comes from not having the sheer technical practice to just poof my ideas out without satisfactory planning first. Part of working through this has been to just- accept that art takes time and I dont have to finish something the same day I start it. Its a struggle, but I'm starting to get the hang of it.

4. Posted on Feb 10, 2024, 10:22:23 AM UTC
    ID: 46545 | #16
    Camphorous
    Level 1
    XP

The conversion of time to money and the needing of money to stay alive. 

If I'm in another job, I don't have hours left in the day to practice art.